Death Road: Bolivia

The Bucket Lust

Just outside of La Paz exists the world’s most dangerous road. Now titled “Death Road” from the number of people that have died driving on it, this highway used to be the ONLY means of transport between La Paz and a good chunk of the rest of Bolivia. Finally, a 15-year project was launched to build a new, very much longer, but very much safer highway (if you could really call it a highway). Before the new road, about 26 vehicles tumbled over the edge and down the massive, vertical drop each year: very much deserving it’s “Death Road” moniker.

 

I first saw clips of The World’s Most Dangerous Road (WMDR) in the Top Gear “Bolivia Special” episode and have been having heart palpitations about it ever since. When Adam told me he wanted to mountain bike down it I laughed. I said “Nope, not me, I’ll wait for…

View original post 1,679 more words

2 comments

  1. Pingback: A Photo Essay: Road trip to Coroico, Bolivia. « 3rdculturechildren
  2. Pingback: Photo of the Day: Thanks to Gravity Bolivia(c)! « 3rdculturechildren