Alt News Reports

Several years back I operated a pet gift website. During the course of running the site I was exposed to many http://www.spirithalloween.com/images/spirit/products/interactivezoom/processed/07161102.interactive.a.jpgfascinating facts about American pet owners. One of those was the annual amount of money that people spent on their pets. Merchandizing wizards always have these kinds of facts at the ready as they desire greatly to carve out a greater and greater portion of that “annual market share” for themselves as profit. This, of course, is the goal of all advertising.

The year was 2002 and the annual sum that Americans spent on their pets was calculated to be more than 20 billion dollars at the time. I recall being staggered by the amount. I even jokingly mused that I had possibly missed my calling by entering a career in graphic design instead of pet retailing or veterinary medicine.

It’s now eleven years later and the new numbers…

View original post 670 more words

