Wild Blackberry Martini • Recipe

Yum!

JIM CARTER

Spring is well underway here in East Texas. On a walk yesterday, I noticed the blackberry bushes are in full bloom. Soon berries will replace the blooms. In the 1950s, when I was young -like grammar school young – this was a really big deal. I would head for the “bottoms” along the creek on our place in South Carolina to gather the berries. I’m not sure bug repellant had been invented back then, but I am sure we didn’t have any. One knew one would be in misery from chigger bites.

If you haven’t experienced chiggers, imagine tiny invisible insects burrowing into your exposed skin every few inches. Then imagine small welts that itch like nothing else. Mosquito bites are nothing compared to these things. But, the wild blackberries were well worth it.

At that point in my life, the berries typically went into a cobbler. Now…

View original post 259 more words

